top of page

Broccamole! (FTDI)


Broccamole (FTDI)

This is faux guacamole made from broccoli with NO avocado! OK, so just trust me on this one lol! OBVIOUSLY avocados are GOD'S gift to man and can never be replaced! However, they're not on the FTDI food list because they're high in fat (even though they're a good fat we're following a low calorie plan so save them for after your 6wk challenge). So, I miss my GUAC when I make my FTDI Tacos, Tostadas, Taquitos, Chips, etc! And I just CAN'T do the asparagus guac after doing TILAPIGUS (Tilapia and asparagus hell weeks) THREE TIMES!

SO, HERE'S MY OWN FTDI GUAC RECIPE I'M CALLING BROCCAMOLE made from Broccoli!

Broccomole (FTDI)

MooMoo Jackson Style

Ingredients:

1 10oz bag of Broccoli Slaw (I get mine at Stater Bros and I use it because to me it tastes less like broccoli in this recipe than actual broccoli florets do)

1 Lime juiced

1/2 cup CHUNKY Red Salsa (any brand but check ingredients to make sure it doesn't have sugar or oil)

1/4 cup fresh Cilantro chopped

1 de-seeded diced jalapeno

Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Pink Himalayan Salt, and Black Pepper to taste (I like a liberal amount of all of them)

Instructions:

1. Put the entire bag of Broccoli Slaw in the microwave on high for 3 minutes in 1 minute increments. No need to poke holes in the bag or open it up first.

2. Place the microwaved Broccoli Slaw and all other ingredients in a food processor EXCEPT FOR the cilantro and jalapeno and PULSE until it's a chunky consistency that resembles guacamole (do not blend until smooth).

Note: If your broccoli slaw has any pieces of carrot in it and you are staying FTDI then simply pick them out before adding all the other ingredients and pulsing them together since carrots are not FTDI.

3. Dump it in a bowl, stir in fresh chopped cilantro and diced jalapeno then refrigerate until cold. Serve it cold as you would serve guacamole!

Portion Info: Broccoli is unlimited so go for it!

HERE'S A PIC OF THE BROCCOLI SLAW I USED (purchased at Stater Brothers). Remember to pick out the few pieces of carrot if you're FTDI:

Broccoli Slaw pic
 

RECIPE Q&A's:

Q: Is Salsa FTDI? What brand should I buy?

A: Salsa IS FTDI in moderation (see you condiments page in your FTDI Bible for details). You can use any brand of salsa just make sure it's CHUNKY for this recipe. Also, it's best practices to read ingredients and make sure there is no sugar or oil or any other non-FTDI ingredients in your salsa. There's plenty of salsa brands that are yummy and don't have those things in them.

Q: What is Broccoli Slaw? Where do I buy it?

A: It's shredded broccoli in a bag. I get it at Stater Brothers. It has some pieces of carrot in it so if you're FTDI then pick them out.

Q: Do I have to use Broccoli Slaw?

A: You don't HAVE to use Broccoli Slaw. You can use Broccoli florets. However, when I did it both ways I noticed it tastes LESS like broccoli when I use the Slaw

Q: Does this taste just like real guacamole?

A: I don't think there is ANYTHING that can replace avocodos! They are God's gift to man lol! HOWEVER, when you are FTDI and you are really wanting some guacamole, this is great slapped on top of your FTDI tacos, taquitos, or chips!

Q: How do I know how much of the seasonings I should put in it?

A: Taste is as you go. It's not that difficult. It's up to you! :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page