top of page

Kid Friendly Clean Eating School Lunch Ideas by MMJ


Tons of people ask me what I feed my kids for lunch and today I decided it would be a great idea to create a blog post about it! I try my hardest to feed my kids CLEAN food as much as possible, for the BULK of their days.

HERE IS MY A-Z LIST OF KID FRIENDLY CLEAN EATING LUNCH IDEAS and EVERY SINGLE thing on this list is ACTUAL food that I put in my kids lunches on a REGULAR basis!

In fact, I called all 4 of them together when writing this blog to ask them to shout out all the healthy foods they love Mom putting in their lunch so in a way, this is THEIR list for you all! :)

There's so much more but I didn't want to overwhelm you all so I started you guys off with the main, most loved clean eating lunch ingredients at my house!

Here's a couple things to keep in mind when putting together a clean lunch for your kids:

1) High protein foods will help kids stay fuller longer. Eggs, meat, cheese, Greek yogurt (without added sugar and other junk), avocado, bananas, nuts, seeds, natural nut butters, hummus, black beans, lentils, and even spinach, broccoli, and quinoa are all examples of high protein foods that my kids enjoy when I make them the right way. Make sure to put some of those high protein ingredients in every lunch!

2) If you are wanting to focus on CLEAN eating lunches for your kids, try to stay away from processed meats like hot dogs, bologna, ham, sausages, canned meat, lunch meat (if you use lunch meat make sure it is Nitrate Free, Antibiotic & Hormone Free, Free Range, Natural, Organic lunch meat which can be found at most grocery stores, but also at Whole Foods and Nutrition Stores like Clark's, Trader Joe's, Sprouts, etc).

HAVE FUN TEACHING YOUR KIDS HOW TO LOVE THEIR BODIES AND THEIR HEALTH THROUGH CLEAN FOOD! I know it's not always easy to do, but I also know that it's SO NECESSARY!

GOOD FOR YOU FOR TRYING!!

A-Z KID FRIENDLY CLEAN EATING LUNCH IDEAS:

MooMoo Jackson Style

Apples slices with organic nut butter to dip

Applesauce--Organic & Unsweetened (you can make it in the instant pot and it's easy...here's my recipe: Clean Applesauce )

Avocado (goes great on anything)

Bananas

Berries

Brown Rice Cakes (with a nut butter, hummus, or cream cheese and veggies for the top)

Brown Fried Rice with Broccoli (you can make it with or without chicken breast--here's my recipe: Broccoli Fried Rice)

Buffalo Chicken Nuggets --homemade, breaded with oatmeal (or plain if your child doesn't like Buffalo sauce. I make these in huge batches and they freeze well too--here's my recipe: Buffalo Chicken Nuggets)

Carrot sticks (with hummus or cream cheese to dip)

Celery (with nut butter. raisins, cranberries, or cream cheese on top or to dip)

Cheese sticks

Cherry Tomatoes

Chickpeas - Roasted (they're crunchy! here's my recipe for them: Roasted Chickpeas)

Cranberries (Dried)

Cuties

Cucumber slices (with hummus or cream cheese to dip)

Dave's Good Seed Seeded Bread (This is a healthy bread and can be found at most grocery stores, or

Dates

Dried Fruit

Dried Seaweed (crunchy)

Fruit Chips (make sure they don't have added sugar or preservatives...I like the BARE brand--they're clean, crunchy, and tasty...here's their website and you can get them at grocery stores like Vons, Stater Bros, Albertsons, or Target, Costco, and even online: baresnacks.com)

Fruit Salad

Grapes (purple or green or a mix)

Greek Yogurt (Non-Fat/Plain without added sugar and junk) with fruit, nuts, and honey in it

Guacamole - clean with fresh ingredients (use veggies, brown rice cakes, or brown rice chips to dip)

Hard Boiled eggs (or Deviled eggs, or egg salad--try using Fat Free Plain Greek Yogurt in place of Mayonnaise I promise you can't tell the difference) Here is my Clean Eating Egg Salad recipe: Avocado Egg Salad)

Lentils "Bean n Cheese" burrito on Whole Grain Tortilla (I use my lentils recipe as the "beans" then just add cheese and avocado to the burrito! here's my recipe for that: Mexican Brown Rice Lentils)

Kiwi

Lunch meat wrap--no grains (Wrap a slice of cheese, some hummus, cream cheese, or mustard, and a couple spinach leaves up together like a roll but without a tortilla! Make sure your lunch meat is Nitrate free, Hormone and Antibiotic free, organic, free range meat. Stick with leaner cuts of meat such as chicken breast or turkey breast. Try to stay away from processed meats like ham, bologna, salami, etc).

Melon (Watermelon, Cantaloupe, Honeydew, etc)

Honey (organic local honey) used as a clean sweetener

Hummus

Nectarines

Nuts and Seeds-Raw (almonds, walnuts, cashews, pistachios, shelled sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, etc)

Nut Butters (peanut, almond, cashew, etc)

Oranges

Paleo Pancakes (I get the Birch Benders Paleo Pancake & Waffle Mix from Target, Costco, or Whole Foods Stores like Clark's, Trader Joe's, Sprouts, etc. Here's the link to the product: birchbenders.com)

Peaches

Pickles

Raisins

Spinach (I try to put raw baby spinach in everything I can--sandwiches, wraps, burritos, salads, etc)

Sprouts (Cream Cheese, Cucumber slices, Sprouts, and Black Pepper on Dave's Good Seed Bread is really yummy)

Trail Mix (make it clean/with dried fruits and nuts maybe a tad bit of DARK chocolate)

Veggie Roll with brown rice (kind of like a California Roll but with just veggies--you can buy them at sushi places or make them at home! I use a sushi Bazooka roller that I bought on Amazon to make them quick and easy!)

Whole Grain Tortilla (or Ezekiel Tortilla)

Wrap (using hummus, cream cheese, or mustard plus veggies/protein of choice--don't forget to add spinach and use a whole grain tortilla)

With love and prayers for health, MMJ


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page