top of page

Turkey Burgers (FTDI)

Tonight it's homemade FTDI Ground Turkey burgers, topped with grilled purple Onion (grilled burgers and onion on the BBQ), thin slice of tomato, mustard, and Sriracha (that's not ketchup), simple steamed broccoli, and Quinoa. It was so good!!!!!!!!!!!!

Answers to upcoming questions that I know will be asked when I post this: 🌟YES, onion is FTDI... any color and they can be raw OR cooked per Sam! 🌟YES, mustard and Sriracha are FTDI! Sriracha was recently approved by Sam (the creator or the 6wk 20lb challenge and cofounder of The Camp). Mustard has always been FTDI because it's zero calories. 🌟No, ketchup is NOT FTDI and there's NO ketchup on my FTDI Turkey burger shown in my picture. 🌟Regarding my thin slice of tomato: Salsa is FTDI in moderation and instead of me chopping up my onion and tomato and stirring them together and then putting a simple pico de gallo on top, I chose to keep it as a slice of onion and a slice of tomato. Some people might want to slaughter me for this.....I see no difference! If you can't tell in my pic both the onion and tomato are thin slices.... Same as a little salsa on top! If you're uncomfortable with that then just scoop some actual salsa on top of yours! Or leave it off the top of your burger altogether! 😁 🌟Check your Condiments and Drinks page in your FTDI Bible to find this info for yourself. 😁

Turkey Burgers (FTDI)

MooMoo Jackson Style

Ingredients:

1 1lb package 99% lean Ground Turkey

1 1lb package Ground Chicken Breast (combining the 2 meats helps make the burgers moist and not dry)

Note: You can also use 2 1lb packages of Meats2u Unseasoned Ground Poultry instead of combining the ground turkey and ground chicken mixture yourself. Their Ground Poultry is 50/50 Ground Turkey and Ground Chicken Breast already mixed for you. It's easiest to mix and make burgers with M2U Ground poultry while it's still a little bit frozen and not all the way thawed out.

2 REAL Egg Whites from the shell

HALF of my FTDI Pico de Gallo recipe found here (click link): Simple Pico de Gallo (FTDI) by MMJ

Burger Seasonings:

2 tsp Garlic Powder

2 tsp Onion Powder

2 tsp Pink Himalayan Salt or to taste

1-2 tsp Black Pepper to taste

1-2 tsp Crushed Red Pepper or to taste (optional)

Instructions: PREHEAT BBQ ON HIGH

1. Combine both meats, pico de gallo (use only half of my pico de gallo recipe), and all the burger seasonings in a bowl and smash it all together with your hands until it is all mixed very well.

2. Shape them into burgers/sliders (large or small, whatever you prefer) then put them all on your preheated BBQ grill. Cook them for 5-7 minutes on each side flipping them only once. Be careful not to make them fall apart, flip them gently.

3. Top them with some fresh spinach, grilled red onion slices (grill a thick slice of red onion on the BBQ until tender), a thin slice of tomato (optional), mustard, and hot sauce! Don't forget your carb!

Portion Info: Weigh your burgers AFTER they are cooked. Remember they have a little bit of pico de gallo in them (which will cook down while they are BBQ'ed) so I would recommend weighing approx one ounce more than your necessary protein portion. It's better to be a little over than to be under when it comes to protein! A tad extra protein won't hinder your weight loss. Protein portions are 4oz women, 6oz men.

RECIPE Q&A's:

Q: Do I have to use both ground turkey AND ground chicken breast?

A: You do not HAVE to use both but I will tell you that when you combine them 50/50 your meat will be much more moist! Ground turkey by itself is usually dry and difficult to eat. I like to eat meat that is moist and not dry! It will work with just one kind of meat though.

Q: What kind of ground chicken should I get? Where can I buy it?

A: Make sure you use only ground chicken BREAST. Often times ground chicken will have other parts of the chicken ground in with it which wouldn't be FTDI. If you have an attachment to your KitchenAid at home then feel free to simply grind up boneless, skinless chicken breasts yourself. If not then you can purchase already ground chicken breast at Stater Brothers, Trader Joe's, Clark's Nutrition, or other Whole Foods stores. The butchers at meat markets will do it for you often times too.

Q: What kind of Ground Turkey should I get? Where can I buy it?

A: I like to buy Jennie-O ground turkey (blue package). It needs to be 1% fat (99% fat free) in order to be FTDI. I buy mine at Stater Brothers, Target, Trader Joe's, Sprouts, or Clark's Nutrition. You can purchase any brand as long as it's 1%. Here is a picture of it:

Q: What is Meats2u? How can I purchase their meat?

A: Meats2u is a company that provides healthy, non-toxic, antibiotic/hormone free, organic meat to the public. You can purchase their meat online at meats2u.com or at any Camp Transformation Center location with a Meat2u freezer on site. They sell a ground poultry (plain or pre-seasoned) that is already 50/50 ground turkey and ground chicken breast (along with many other healthy meats). It's delicious, convenient, and has many health benefits as well!

Q: Are these burgers dry?

A: Ground turkey is usually on the dry side of meats. However, combining it 50/50 with ground chicken breast helps make it less dry. Also, adding a little egg white and the Pico de Gallo to the meat will help make them more moist. These are definitely turkey burgers and not ground beef, but this recipe makes them not too dry and they're actually yummy!

Q: How do I portion my protein with this recipe?

A: Weigh your burgers after they're cooked. They will have Pico de Gallo in them which will cook down when BBQ'ed so they will be a little bit more difficult to get a 100% accurate protein portion but error on the side of more protein rather than less. A little extra protein won't hinder your weight loss results at all but not enough protein CAN hinder it. When I make this I usually weigh 5oz of burger for myself instead of 4oz to account for the veggies in the meat (one ounce more than my allotted protein portion).

Q: Are the ingredients in the Pico de Gallo FTDI? Can I use them in this recipe if I'm in the 6wk challenge at The Camp?

A: Salsa /Pico de Gallo IS FTDI in moderation (check your Condiments and Drinks page in your FTDI Bible). It can be homemade or store bought, thick and hearty or pico de gallo, red or green! YES, you can put the salsa/pico de gallo in this recipe if you are a challenger!

Q: Are tomatoes FTDI?

A: Tomatoes are not on the approved FTDI food list. HOWEVER, Salsa IS FTDI in moderation and it is made with tomatoes. See your Condiments and Drinks page in your Bible for info. So, you are allowed to use salsa in this recipe and still remain FTDI.

🌟Regarding my thin slice of tomato you see on top of my burger: Since salsa is FTDI in moderation, instead of me chopping up my onion and tomato and stirring them together and then putting a simple pico de gallo on top of my burger, I chose to keep it as a slice of onion and a slice of tomato. Some people might want to slaughter me for this.....I see no difference! If you can't tell in my pic both the onion and tomato are thin slices.... Same as a little salsa on top! If you're uncomfortable with that then just scoop some actual salsa on top of yours! Or leave it off the top of your burger altogether! 😁

Q: Are onions FTDI? Are we allowed to eat cooked onions during our 6wk weight loss challenge at The Camp?

A: Yes. Onions are FTDI. You are allowed to eat them raw OR cooked during your 6wk challenge. See your Condiments and Drinks page in your Bible for info. Remember that onions are considered a CONDIMENT and should be used as a condiment, not as a main course or a side dish. They are higher in sugar so eating an excessive amount can hinder your weight loss but they are FINE if eaten properly.

Q: Is Sriracha FTDI? Where can I purchase it?

A: Yes, Sriracha was recently approved as FTDI for Challengers by Sam, the creator of the 6wk 20lb challenge and co-founder of The Camp. I purchase mine at Stater Brothers or at most any grocery store.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page