top of page

Breakfast Panini (FTDI)


Breakfast Panini (FTDI)

These Paninis are great for breakfast or ANYTIME! Fill them with any FTDI Protein, Veggies, or Condiments!! They are great on the go because they don't fall apart , they refrigerate, freeze, and reheat well (I wrap mine in a paper towel and microwave in 30sec increments) or can even be eaten cold, they're yummy and different than plain 'ol egg whites and Oatmeal for breakfast! TRY IT! Just bust out your Panini maker! I got mine at Target for around $20 but any Panini maker will do!

Breakfast Panini (FTDI)

MooMoo Jackson Style

Ingredients:

1 batch of my FTDI Oat Tortilla recipe found here: FTDI Oat Tortillas MMJ Style

Handful fresh Spinach

Green Salsa (Homemade or store bought)

1/2 protein portion COOKED egg whites

1/2 protein portion COOKED 1% ground turkey

Note: I cook my egg whites and ground turkey together and season with any FTDI seasoning. I like to use Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Pink Himalayan Salt, Black Pepper, and crushed red pepper (optional) to taste. Cooked egg whites and ground turkey combined should equal 4oz for women or 6oz for men).

Instructions:

**Preheat your Panini maker on high setting while you prepare your Panini in a skillet first (I got mine at Target for around 20 bucks). 1) Make one large burrito sized tortilla by following my FTDI Oat Tortilla recipe--link to recipe located above in the ingredients section (following your correct carb portion for your gender--instructions included in my recipe).

Then, pour the ENTIRE tortilla batter into a HOT skillet sprayed with Pam (use a skillet the exact size you want your large tortilla to be).

Note: COOK YOUR TORTILLA ALL THE WAY THROUGH ON ONLY ONE SIDE WITHOUT FLIPPING IT for best results with this recipe! 2) Once your large tortilla is cooked through then fill it (while still in the same skillet) with COOKED egg whites and 1% ground turkey (pre-portioned correctly for your gender) and fresh spinach (veggies can be raw or cooked). Also pour some Green Salsa in it. 3) Next use your spatula to fold in 3 sides of the tortilla around it's fillings like making a burrito. Then SLIDE your "burrito" out of your skillet right onto the center of your HOT Panini maker (SPRAYED WITH PAM) and close the lid pressing down on it. Note: Let it cook for longer than you normally would because the Oat Tortilla takes a little longer to cook on it.

***FEEL FREE TO USE ANY FTDI PROTEIN AND VEGGIES IN YOUR PANINI! It doesn't have to be breakfast ingredients. Just make sure to stick with your correct protein portion!***

 

RECIPE Q&A's:

Q: How do I know if I'm eating the correct protein and carb portions for FTDI?

A: Follow my portion instructions for my FTDI Oat Tortilla recipe and you will for sure be eating the correct carb portion. For your protein in this recipe you will pre-cook it and weigh it so you know you have the correct protein portion in each panini you make.

Q: What if I want to make several paninis?

A: Pre-cook all your meat and weigh it all out. For the tortilla part of this recipe you'll need to make ONE at a time rather than preparing a huge bowl of oat tortilla batter so that your batter doesn't sit there and become super thick. Oats soak up the water pretty quickly so if you don't pour your batter into your skillet right away your batter will become super thick.

Q: Is Salsa FTDI?

A: Yes! Salsa condiment that is FTDI in moderation (see the Condiments and Drinks page in your FTDI Bible for details). You may have store bought or homemade salsa, red or green. I like Herdez brand but any brand is ok. I check the ingredients to make sure there is no oil or sugar in my store bought salsa.

Q: What kind of Ground Turkey should I get? Where can I buy it?

A: I like Meats2u ground poultry which is a 50/50 blend of ground turkey and ground chicken breast. They have pre-seasoned ground poultry which makes it yummy and easy!

I also like to buy Jennie-O ground turkey (blue package). It needs to be 1% fat (99% fat free) in order to be FTDI. I buy mine at Stater Brothers, Target, Trader Joe's, Sprouts, or Clark's Nutrition. You can purchase any brand as long as it's 1%. Here is a picture of it:

Jennie-O 1% Turkey

Q: What is Meats2u? Where can I buy it?

A: Meats2u is a company that provides healthy, non-toxic, antibiotic/hormone free, organic meat to the public. You can purchase their meat online at meats2u.com or at any Camp Transformation Center location with a Meat2u freezer on site.

Q: What other kinds of paninis can I make FTDI?

A: You can be as creative as possible with our FTDI list and fill your panini with ANY FTDI protein or veggie, seasoning or condiment!

Q: What is a Panini maker and where can I buy one?

A: It's an electric grill that you press sandwiches, wraps, burritos, etc. in. I got mine at Target in the kitchen appliance section for around $20 but you can get them practically anywhere that sells kitchen appliances. They range in price. Here is a picture of one:

Panini Maker

Q: What if I don't have a panini maker?

A: Some people told me they have tried using a George Forman Grill. If you don't have a Panini maker and you don't plan on purchasing one you can make a burrito! Just keep it in the skillet longer to cook. I like making it into a panini because it smooshes it all together and doesn't fall apart easily on the go!

Q: How should I store these? Can I freeze them?

A: I store mine in a Ziploc bag in the refrigerator or freezer. They freeze and reheat well. I wrap my panini in a paper towel and microwave in 30sec increments until warm.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page